Newly-elected city officials take oath June 29

Mayor Beng Climaco along with other city officials elected into office during the May 13 polls will take their oath at 5pm on Saturday, June 29 at the City Hall grounds.

With the historic 112-year old City Hall as backdrop, Mayor Climaco and the other city officials will individually take their oath before an administering officer of their choice. Hundreds of people, representing the different sectors of society, families, friends and supporters of newly-elected city officials are expected to grace the grand ceremony.

The City Special Events team together with the security sector are now finalizing preparations for the event to include traffic flow, security details and other arrangements.

Aside from Mayor Climaco, elected into office during the May 13 mid-term polls were Atty. Rommel Agan as Vice Mayor, former Councilor Cesar “Jawo” Jimenez Jr. as District I Representative and Manuel Jose “Mannix” Dalipe, now on his second term as District II Representative.

Elected members of the City Council for District I were Josephine Pareja, Elbert “Bong” Atilano Jr., Khymer Olaso, Joselito Macrohon, Rogelio “Gerky” Valesco Jr., Cesar Jimenez, Crisanto de la Cruz and El King Omaga. For District II, elected councilors were John Dalipe, BG Guingona, Atty. Kim Elago, Lilibeth Nuño, Miguel “Mike” Alavar, Jihan Edding, Jimmy Villaflores and Vincent Paul “VP” Elago.

The formal event will start with the processional of all elected city officials to be followed by the prayer and singing of national anthem and Zamboanga Hermosa hymn to be led by the Zamboanga City State Polytechnic College Cantamos Chorale.

All elected city officials will be serving a 3-year term from July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2022.  The mayor, vice mayor, District representatives or congressmen and city councilors are eligible for election for 3 consecutive terms at 3 years per term, based on the Constitution.  (Sheila Covarrubias)