Dalipe recognizes top BNS

Mayor John Dalipe recognized top barangay nutrition scholars (BNS) in the city and the region, as he led the 2023 Nutrition Month culminating program at a local hotel Thursday, July 27.

Organized by the National Nutrition Committee in collaboration with the City Health office and the Department of Health, the event honored the dedication and efforts of BNS as they pursue their responsibilities as frontline healthworkers in the community.

Feted during the program were Ma. Manelyn Olasiman of Talon-talon, who was awarded City Outstanding BNS 2022; Judith Leaño of San Roque who ranked first place;  Mudzria Abdurahim of Taluksangay – 2nd place; Jemima Hazel Jamalul of San Jose Gusu – 3rd place  and Noemi Andico of Pasonanca –  4th place.

Jessica Pradel of Ayala was also awarded as 2021 Regional Outstanding BNS.

Mayor Dalipe hailed the efforts of the BNS saying “these remarkable individuals epitomize the spirit of service, dedicating their time, knowledge, and expertise to serve as a bridge between the community and the nutrition program,” as he added: “Your work exemplifies the true essence of leadership, compassion, and a transformative power of a single individual’s commitment to make a difference.”

The naming of the Top 5 BNS was based on the implementation of the Philippine Plan of Action for Nutrition, an annual undertaking at the local level that is monitored and assessed by the Monitoring and Evaluation of Local Level Plan Implementation or MELLPI Pro.

The closing program was also highlighted by the signing of the 49th Nutrition Month Pledge by all stakeholders led by the mayor.

The 49th Nutrition Month celebration in Zamboanga City themed “Healthy Diet, Gawing Affordable for All,” kicked off July 3 and was marked by various activities spearheaded by the City Nutrition Committee.

Also present during the program were City Veterinarian Dr. Mario Ariola, OIC-City Agriculturist Arben Maldugo, NDAP Board of Directors Virginia Sagrado and Dr. Antonnieta Domen, Medical Nutrion Action Officer Dr. Myra Sharon Francisco, Chief Dietician West Metro Medical Center Jennifer Saavedra, Nutrition Officer, NNC IX Elton Pelegrino, DepEd Chairperson City Nutrition Evaluation Team Gerald Cris Pioquinto, and numerous others. (Ma. Bernadeth Lazaro- CMO-PIO/ Raffy Reyes, Ruwel Atilano – ZPPSU Interns)