Dalipe follows through 2024 ZPRAA, Division Meet preps

Mayor John Dalipe Monday morning presides over a meeting of the Organizing Committee to look into the status of preparations for the 2024 Zamboanga Peninsula Athletic Association (ZPRAA) Meet which the city is hosting anew after 18 years.

Slated April 21-26, the ZPRAA is expected to draw more than 8,000 athletes, coaches and parents and other guests from all over Zamboanga Peninsula.

Also taken up during the meeting was the progress on the preparations for the upcoming Division Meet set March 7 to 10 at the Joaquin Enriquez Memorial Sports Complex.

Discussions centered on the status of the purchase requests for various supplies and services that will pave the way for the preparations in the sports facilities and billeting schools to include the water supply and power connection; the security plan; the visitors’ tour and recreation and other aspects.

Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) representative Prof. Elbert “Bong” Atilano Sr. said preparations need to be fast tracked as a number of delegates are arriving in the city as early as April 10 to familiarize the playing venues and billeting areas.

Mayor Dalipe has directed all members of the organizing committee to expedite the processing of all purchase documents to ensure prompt preparations for the ZPRAA meet. He urged all agencies concerned to mobilize all government resources to ensure the success of the event, which will be held in the city 18 years after its last hosting.

ZPRAA is a sports competition for public elementary and high school athletes representing 8 delegations coming from the cities of Dipolog, Dapitan, Pagadian, Zamboanga and Isabela and the provinces of Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur and Zamboanga Sibugay. It is organized by the Department of Education in collaboration with the PSC and the host city.

The Division Meet meanwhile, is the sports competition for elementary and high school athletes from Zamboanga City, the winners of which will represent the city in the ZPRAA. (Sheila Covarrubias)