City officials sworn in June 29

Newly-elected city officials led by Mayor Beng Climaco were formally sworn into office Saturday, June 29 at the Multi-purpose Covered Court of the Ateneo de Zamboanga University- La Purisima Campus, as they assumed their posts Sunday noon, June 30 until 2022.

Amidst the inclement weather, the formal rites took place before some 1,000 people that included families, friends and supporters of city officials and representatives from the cross-section of the city.

Court of Appeals Associate Justice Ramon Garcia administered the oath of Mayor Climaco, who is now serving her third term.

Also sworn by their individual administering officers were Vice Mayor Rommel Agan (first term), District I Rep. Jawo Jimenez  (first term) and District II Rep. Mannix Dalipe (2nd term) as well as District I Councilors Josephine Pareja, Elbert “Bong” Atilano Jr., Khymer Olaso, Rogelio “Gerky” Valesco Jr., Cesar Jimenez, Crisanto de la Cruz and El King Omaga and District II Councilors John Dalipe, BG Guingona, Atty. Kim Elago, Jihan Edding, Jimmy Villaflores and Vincent Paul “VP” Elago.

All of them took their individual oath of office before an administering officer of their choice.

Councilor Joselito Macrohon of District I and Councilors Mike Alavar and Lilibeth Nuno of District II were not present as they already took their oath separately a few days earlier. 

Like their counterparts in other cities, provinces and municipalities in the country, the new set of city officials will be serving a three-year term starting noon of June 30, 2019 to noon of June 30, 2022, based on the Philippine Constitution. 

Meanwhile, the venue for the event, earlier set at the City Hall grounds was moved at the last minute to the MPCC of ADZU in La Purisima Street due to the inclement weather condition, per advisory from the weather bureau.  (Sheila Covarrubias)