City fetes 2024 local achievers

Sixteen (16) individuals and 5 civic organizations, educational institutions and business establishments were conferred the 2024 Local Achiever Awards, a prestigious award that recognizes the exemplary contribution and achievements of Zamboangueños in their respective fields.

Mayor John Dalipe led city government officials in bestowing the recognition during formal rites held Wednesday night, February 21 at the Garden Orchid Convention Center, as part of the 87th Dia de Zamboanga festivities.

The chief executive highly praised the awardees for their extraordinary accomplishments and noteworthy success that brought pride and honor to the city of Zamboanga. “We honor you not just for your achievements, but for the positive influence you have on the lives of those around you, the community, in the name and principle of inclusivity and sustainability.”

Former Revenue District Officer Roberto Bucoy was conferred the Orgullo de Zamboanga Premiar, the highest achievement in the 2024 Local Achiever Awards, while former Philippine Ambassador in Timor Leste and former city prosecutor Abdulmaid Muin was bestowed the Public Service Award.

The late former president of the Colegio de la Ciudad de Zamboanga was posthumously awarded for his contributions in Culture and Arts. He spearheaded the production of chavacano dictionaries and textbooks and conducted researches that helped in the promotion and preservation of the chavacano language.

The list of awardees for the 2024 Local Achiever Awards is as follows:

Orgullo de Zamboanga Premiar
Former Revenue District Officer Roberto Bucoy

Sports Chezka Centeno (World 10-ball Champion)
Albert Ian Delos Santos (IWF World Youth Champion)

Culture and Arts
Dr. Jose Genaro Yap-Aizon (Posthumous)
Dexter Dela Peña (Cinematography, Director of Photography, Editor, and Music)

Public Service
Ambassador Abdulmaid Muin

Community Service
Masonic District R9 ZAMBASULTA with Masonic Lodges 310, 415, 45, and 484

Academe (Individual)
Reane Haley M. Wee
Sry Aubree F. Teo
Sabrina Louis L. Cheong

Academe (Institution)
Universidad de Zamboanga

Investment Promotions
Jervil Formilleza-Omaga (CEO of Vintazk Outsourcing)

Tourism-oriented Establishment
Palacio del Sur

Highest Taxpayer (Individual)
Sharif Hasim
Highest Taxpayer (Corporate)
Mindpro Shopping Zamboanga, Inc.

Mayor’s Award of Merit:
MGEN Romulo Manuel Jr.
MGEN Camilo Ligayo
BGEN Antonio John Divinagracia

Mayor’s Citation for Leadership:
Abram Eustaquio
Ronald F. Aba-a
Joining the mayor during the awarding rites were Councilors Rogelio “Gerky” Valesco, Boday Cabato, Vincent Paul Elago, Liga ng mga Barangay President Councilor Jordan Evangelista and SK National President Carol Julieanne “CJ” Dalipe, City Tourism Officer Sarita Sebastian Hernandez, Former Mayor Manny Dalipe, former Vice Mayor Rommel Agan, City Police Director PCol. Alexander Lorenzo, City Department Heads, and a host of others. (Bernadeth Lazaro)